The Best Laid Plans|Book Review

more than I should

The Best Laid Plans – Published 2020

High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.

It seemed like a good plan at first.

When the only other virgin in her group of friends loses it at Keely’s own eighteenth birthday party, she’s inspired to take things into her own hands. She wants to have that experience too (well, not exactly like that–but with someone she trusts and actually likes), so she’s going to need to find the guy, and fast. Problem is, she’s known all the boys in her small high school forever, and it’s kinda hard to be into a guy when you watched him eat crayons in kindergarten.

So she can’t believe her luck when she meets a ridiculously hot new guy named Dean. Not only does he look like he’s fallen out of a classic movie poster, but he drives a motorcycle, flirts with ease, and might actually be into her.

But Dean’s already in college, and Keely is convinced he’ll drop her if he finds out how inexperienced she is. That’s when she talks herself into a new plan: her lifelong best friend, Andrew, would never hurt or betray her, and he’s clearly been with enough girls that he can show her the ropes before she goes all the way with Dean. Of course, the plan only works if Andrew and Keely stay friends–just friends–so things are about to get complicated.

Cameron Lund’s delightful debut is a hilarious and heartfelt story of first loves, first friends, and first times–and how making them your own is all that really matters.” – Goodreads

WHAT I LIKED

This book was all over Instagram and I knew I had to get my hands on it, despite not knowing anything about it. I’ve been doing a lot of that type of reading lately. Just reading things based on hype, not even looking at the description on the back or inside cover. I sort of love it; it’s like a blind date with a book, but I’ve literally already judged its cover and deemed it worthy of a chance. Anyway, I had to know. And it was pretty good. Not a homerun for me, but definitely a quick and cute read that I would recommend to others.

Keely’s best friend, Andrew, is totally adorable. I shipped them very hard from the get, but neither was willing to see one another in that light for the majority of the book.

This is not a criticism, but it is very YA. I love YA, but sex and YA are a fine line for me as an educator. This was very honest and forthcoming with the desire to have sex, withhold from having sex, and talking about sex. From what I remember, this is very much so how kids actually think, feel, talk and act regarding the topic. It is very high school. So, kudos to Lund on writing in an authentic 18 year old’s voice, but if you’re not into YA, this one definitely won’t be for you.

WHAT I DID NOT LIKE

Danielle’s character was disgusting to me. I genuinely cringed and skipped over a lot of her dialogue. She’s more than the stereotypical mean girl; she’s viscous.

SPOILER. DO NOT READ THIS IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO HAVE SOMETHING SPOILED: Dean. He started so sweet and so cute and so desirable, and then he really turned into a huge douchebag whose character seemed a little unbelievable. I truly don’t think someone two years into college would go to prom in a small town when he has a fake ID, lives on his own, has a job and a motorcycle. This was the least believable part of the story for me. In real life I think Dean would have said, “That’s too young for me, but let’s hang out after.” But, maybe in a small town things are different.

Others might have a problem with the underage drinking that occurs very frequently.

I think this was supposed to be a progressive sex-positive book, and it was sort of. There was a lot of slut-shaming, but it came more from other girls than from males. It tackled males being nervous about losing their virginity a little, but not as much as it could have. It also was supposed to showcase that losing your virginity isn’t a race, but it didn’t always seem that way.

Overall, I think it’s a cute book that started strong, I didn’t love in the middle, and ended very sweet. I’ll give it 4 stars and recommend you check it out if you haven’t already!

4 stars

img_7795-4

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s